ABIM Foundation Announces New Members of Board of Trustees

PHILADELPHIA—The ABIM Foundation announces the appointments of Gregory P. Poulsen, and Sharon A. Levine, MD, as new members of its Board of Trustees, along with the appointment of Holly Humphrey, MD, as Chair of the Board of Trustees, effective July 1, 2014. Donald E. Wesson, MD, becomes Immediate Past Chair. Elizabeth A. McGlynn, PhD, has been elected to Vice Chair and Christine A. Sinsky, MD, as Secretary-Treasurer.

“Dr. Humphrey is one of the nation’s most widely-respected medical educators, and is at the forefront of efforts to improve education and training of the next generation of physicians,” said Richard J. Baron, MD, President and CEO of the American Board of Internal Medicine and ABIM Foundation. “She is uniquely qualified to lead the Board’s initiatives to advance medical professionalism and continue the Foundation’s successful Choosing Wisely campaign. As health systems continue to drive change in how care is delivered, Mr. Poulsen will help us broaden our understanding of the role of systems and how physicians are engaged in quality improvement. Dr. Levine, as a member of the ABIM Council, will help create linkages between the assessment role of ABIM and work of the Foundation to advance professionalism.”

Dr. Humphrey, a board certified internist, is the Ralph W. Gerard Professor of Medicine and Dean for Medical Education at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine. She joined the Board of Trustees in 2009 and previously served on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Internal Medicine from 2001 to 2007, including a term as Chair from 2006 to 2007. Dr. Humphrey’s scholarly work focuses on residency education, professionalism and mentoring. She has been selected as favorite faculty teacher more than 20 times by graduating students.

Mr. Poulsen is the Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer at Intermountain Healthcare. As a Commissioner for the Commonwealth Fund in Washington, DC, Mr. Poulsen assisted in efforts to define a high performance health system for the United States. He has also been a consultant to the Swedish Health Minister and the British National Health Service. In addition to his role as a Trustee, Mr. Poulsen serves as Chair of the Utah Health Data Committee Consumer Information Council and is past Chair of the Utah Foundation, a nonprofit public policy research organization.

Dr. Levine, a board certified internist and geriatrician, is Professor of Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine, former Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, and currently serves as the Director of Geriatric Educational Innovations in the Geriatrics Section. She is also a member of the American Board of Internal Medicine’s Council and the Chair of the ABIM Subspecialty Board of Geriatric Medicine. She was recently invited by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to serve on the Advisory Committee on Interdisciplinary, Community-Based Linkages. A recipient of the American Geriatric Society’s Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award for outstanding leadership in advancing geriatrics education in health professions schools, Dr. Levine created Boston University’s Chief Resident Immersion Training (CRIT) in the Care of Older Adults, which focuses on providing chief residents with knowledge and confidence to practice and teach geriatrics and to develop leadership and teaching skills. The CRIT has been disseminated to 33 institutions nationwide.

The Board of Trustees oversees the ABIM Foundation by advancing the Foundation’s work in medical professionalism. The Board includes many national leaders in the health care community who have served on the American Board of Internal Medicine’s Board of Directors.

  • Chair: Holly J. Humphrey, MD, Ralph W. Gerard Professor of Medicine and Dean for Medical Education, the University of Chicago
  • Immediate Past Chair: Donald E. Wesson, MD, Vice Dean, Texas A&M Health Science Center (Temple Campus); Chief Academic Officer, Scott & White Clinic/Hospital
  • Vice Chair: Elizabeth A. McGlynn, PhD, Director, Kaiser Permanente Center for Effectiveness & Safety Research
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Christine A. Sinsky, MD, General Internist, Medical Associates Clinic and Health Plans
  • Richard J. Baron, MD, President and CEO, American Board of Internal Medicine and ABIM Foundation
  • John G. Harold, MD, Clinical Professor of Medicine in the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California at Los Angeles; Attending Physician, Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute
  • David H. Johnson, MD, Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine and Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Jackie Judd, Health Care Communications Consultant
  • Sharon A. Levine, MD, Director, Geriatric Educational Innovations and Professor of Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine
  • Mary D. Naylor, PhD, RN, Marian S. Ware Professor in Gerontology and Director, NewCourtland Center for Transitions and Health, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
  • Gregory P. Poulsen, Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Intermountain Healthcare
  • John C. Rother, JD, President and CEO , National Coalition on Health Care
  • Martín-J. Sepúlveda, MD, IBM Fellow and Vice President, Health Industries Research, IBM
  • Robert M. Wachter, MD, Professor of Medicine and Associate Chairman, Department of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF); Chief, UCSF Division of Hospital Medicine

The mission of the ABIM Foundation is to advance medical professionalism to improve the health care system. We achieve this by collaborating with physicians and physician leaders, medical trainees, health care delivery systems, payers, policy makers, consumer organizations and patients to foster a shared understanding of professionalism and how they can adopt the tenets of professionalism in practice. To learn more about the ABIM Foundation, visitwww.abimfoundation.org read the Medical Professionalism Blog , connect with us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter .


Media Inquiries

Jaime McClennen
Email: press@abimfoundation.org